Home » District » History, Location and size

History, Location and size

 Location and size

Buikwe District lies in the Central regionof Uganda, sharing borders with the Districtof Jinja in the East, Kayunga alongriver Sezibwa in the rth, Mukono in the West, and Buvuma in Lake Victoria.The District Headquarters is in BuikweTown, situated along Kampala - Jinja road(11kms off Lugazi). Buikwe Districtconsists of three constituencies namelyBuikwe rth (Njeru MC), BuikweSouth and Buikwe West (Lugazi MC). Itcontains 2 Municipal Councils and 13Lower Local Governments (6 Divisions, 3Town Councils and 4 Sub Counties)with a total land area of about 1209Square Kilometres.

The district has 1 County (i.e. Buikwe) with 4 rural Sub-counties, 3 Town Councils and Municipalities. The sub-counties are Buikwe, Najja, Ngogwe, and Ssi-Bukunja; while the Town Councils are Buikwe, Kiyindi and Nkokonjeru. The Municipalities are Njeru and Lugazi. Under these lower Local Governments, there are 67 parishes / wards and 478 Village Councils 

The District Council is the highest political authority, with 28 members under the headship of the District Chairperson. It has a technical team headed by the Chief Administrative Officer, distributed in departments/sectors. Each of the department has a head and under each department, there are a number of sections.

Historical Background

Buikwe District is one of the 28 districts of Uganda that were created under the local Government Act 1 of 1997. By the act of parliament, the district was inniatially one of the Counties of Mukono district but later declared an independent district in July 2009. The current Buikwe district consists of One County which is divided into three constituencies namely Buikwe North, Buikwe South and Buikwe West. It conatins 8 sub counties and 4 Town councils.

Tourism potentials in the district

  1. Mabira forest in Najjembe sub county
  2. Bujjagali falls in Wakisi sub county
  3. Sezibwa falls in Kawolo sub county
  4. Ssenyi landing site in Ssi-Bukunja sub county
  5. Kiyindi landing site in Najja sub county
  6. Rain forest hotel in Najjembe sub county
  7. Part of Owen falls dam
  8. River Musamya